Customer Comments

Britten House
21 Kirkley Cliff Road Lowestoft Suffolk NR33 0DB 01502 573950 239 4.9
Brilliant
Booked this room after reviews on various hotel booking websites and was not disappointed. I received a very friendly welcome and was shown to my more the adequate room. I had all the usual items from a hotel room kettle, fridge, TV etc. my shower room was huge and the shower was one of the best I have used in a hotel. My Breakfast was freshly cooked to order and I had a view out to the sea very nice indeed. if I ever go back to this area again I wont bother looking around i will use this hotel every time.

Mr Christopher Stone - 19th February, 2014
Verified Review

Perfect!
Based on our own visit, it would be impossible to fault this hotel. It is perfectly located with an unbroken view of the sea but it also a house of historical importance. It is the birth place and early home of the composer Benjamin Britten. We occupied the 'Mozart Suite' which is the seafront room in which the family lived and in which the young Benjamin Britten wrote his first compositions. This elegant suite is extremely well furnished and comfortable, It also has those many small touches that make the visitor feel welcome and valued. It combines a large bedroom and four poster bed with a pleasant lounge area with a sofa and a table and chairs in the window bay.The room is lit by two smart chandaliers and is well heated. The bathroom has a large bath with shower providing a range of alternative shower options. The towels and bedding are all of a high standard and there is a plentiful supply of tea, coffee and biscuits. The breakfast is of an excellent quality providing a wide range of choices and the flexibility to vary the meal according to the visitor's personal taste. It really would be very difficult to find fault with this hotel or indeed the hospitality of its owners.

Mr. Chris Ure - 16th February, 2014
Verified Review

Excellent choice to stay
Excellent place to stay, close to aquarium and on the seafront. Ann and Colin very hospitable, accommodation very clean and would definitely go back again. Breakfast freshly cooked and delicious. Excellent stay. Thank you

Mr. James Mcgennity - 2nd February, 2014
Verified Review

Britten House, Lowestoft
Excellent accommodation with very friendly and helpful owners.

Mr. Malcolm Couldridge - 31st January, 2014
Verified Review

The best in Lowestoft
Britten house is the best place to stay when you visit Lowestoft, everything is just right, the breakfast is one of the best around.

Mr. John Gout - 13th January, 2014
Verified Review

Old Fashioned Hospitality
Lovely accommodation, genial host and mouthwatering breakfast.

Mr. Robert Hickson - 1st January, 2014
Verified Review

excellent
Found this hotel by chance via the Lowestoft website. Very comfortable and welcoming. Appreciated the settee from which to take in the sea view. Excellent breakfast especially the smoked haddock. Will highly recommend.

Mr Roger Elmer - 30th November, 2013
Verified Review

Excellent Coastal B&B
Britten House is a very good B&B with confortable, well-appointed rooms and is managed by friendly and helpful staff. It is very close to a beach that is very suitable for families with children.

Mr. John Morris - 24th November, 2013
Verified Review

Excellent
The staff at britten house are welcoming and flexible, the rooms are clean and charming, and the amenities (especially the showers) are excellent. My favourite place to stay on business in lowestoft, where most of the accommodation is frankly awful.

Mr Ed Bisdee - 21st November, 2013
Verified Review

Fantastic
Very friendly,Very clean,superb breakfast, would visit again.

Mr. Mark Miller - 12th November, 2013
Verified Review

Great stay
Great stay as ever , friendly , caring , and always helpfull . Never stay anywhere els highly recommended

Mark Edmunds - 6th November, 2013
Verified Review

October Visit
My return visit in October found all as before - warm welcome, clean and comfortable room, great breakfast. I will be returning.

Mr. Keith Allen - 30th October, 2013
Verified Review

Just like things used to be...
DOES WHAT IT SAYS ON THE TIN..No complaints...

Mr. Malcolm Clarke - 28th October, 2013
Verified Review

Fantastic
We thoroughly enjoyed our sty at Britten House.Lovely atmosphere throughout,the room was cean and tidy loved thoughtful touches in the room like shoe tray etc for dirty shoes..Owners just lovely and a cooked breakfast to die for!!Easily 5 stars here

Mrs Wendy Marsh - 22nd October, 2013
Verified Review

Lovely
Will keep this simple: fantastic clean/tasteful/well-fitted accomodation; lovely hosts; nice atmosphere; nice touches; great breakfast. Highly recommended.

Mr Whiteley - 19th October, 2013
Verified Review

Another Great Stay!
This was our second visit to Britten House and again we were not disappointed. Stayed in the Mozart Suite and the room is really lovely - very spacious room with a sea view, extremely comfortable bed and an amazing shower system thrown in as well! The breakfasts really do set you up for the day - with as little or as much as you want. Thank you Colin and Ann for another enjoyable stay - and a special thanks to Colin for trying to help us get back on the road - with or without a wire coathanger!

Mrs. Antonina (nina) Robinson - 14th October, 2013
Verified Review

Warm Welcome
Britten House, birthplace and former home of Benjamin Britten, is a lovely, well situated guest house offering up to date facilities in traditional surroundings. I received a warm welcome and enjoyed excellent and well presented breakfasts in a family surrounding. Pleasant sea-front walks can be taken in both directions from the front door. I look forward to a return visit next year as a base for discovering the Suffolk coast.

Mr. David Whittaker - 12th October, 2013
Verified Review

Excellent
Stayed for the weekend and everything from arrival to departure was excellent, on arrival was shown our room which was very nice but on asking if one with a sea view was available was shown the options available, chose the Benjamin Britten suit with its outstanding sea views. Although this room had a separate bathroom (excellent shower) this did not detract from the overall experience of our stay. Faultless !!

Mr. Paul Spooner - 9th October, 2013
Verified Review

Best place I have ever stayed in
Hospitality was second to none. We were looked after from the moment we arrived and nothing was too much trouble. The hotel was lovely and very clean and we particularly liked the finishing touches in each of our rooms. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Mrs Perrin - 7th October, 2013
Verified Review

Excellent
Very good value for money

Mr Paul Marchal - 3rd October, 2013
Verified Review

A real find !
Our visit to this lovely establishment lived up to all our expectations since we booked. The room contained all that we needed with a very comfortable bed and excellent shower. We had read reports about the excellent breakfasts and those reports truly reflected what we came to enjoy each morning of our 4 night stay, first class. The staff were very attentive and really worked hard at ensuring we had everything we needed. Britten House is situated in a very nice part of Lowestoft in close proximity to the beach, everywhere being clean, tidy and well maintained by the town authorities.

Mr Henk Van Nierop - 29th September, 2013
Verified Review

Weekend stay
Wonderful in every way possible,thank you

Mr Philip Staples - 10th September, 2013
Verified Review

Perfect Stay
We had really good time at Britten House. The couple who runs this lovely house was very friendly and helpful.They made our stay very comfortable. Room was beautiful and spacious,Seafront was icing on cake. Breakfast was tasty. Highly recommended.

Mrs Mandip - 5th September, 2013
Verified Review

Best holiday for years
Britten House is such a special place. The standards are so good. The breakfasts are excellent and Ann and Colin are brilliant hosts. I do not think there is any better place to stay in Suffolk. I would recommend it to anyone wanting a break in Lowestoft.

Mr Michael Cooper - 3rd September, 2013
Verified Review

Lovely Stay
We spent one night on 30th August in Britten House.We very much enjoyed our stay & were made to feel at home.Britten House has been decorated to a very high standard & every detail has been thought of to make our stay enjoyable, including jugs of filtered water in every room.The breakfast is substantial & the choice is varied from cereals fruit & yogurt to a full cooked breakfast with tea, coffee & toast.We will definintely stay here again

Mr. Michael Daly - 1st September, 2013
Verified Review

Thank you x 3!
The place is very nice, the location is lovely and the hosts are exceptional. The room I stayed in was very well thought out, the layout had the guest very much in mind and I was so very comfortable I just did not want to leave - I really didn't! :( I cannot thank Ann & Colin enough for taking time and sharing their local knowledge about places - and also we had great conversations about property in Lowestoft and property in general - I'm afraid I might have taken a little too much of their time. Good access into town - you can walk via the beach route or via the parallel roads - I had a such a great stay and will definitely be returning there. I give 7 out of 5 stars! :)

Mr. Shabir Sattar - 29th August, 2013
Verified Review

excellent
everything wonderful

Dr. Rainer Metzger - 20th August, 2013
Verified Review

Overnight stay
Thank you for a lovely stay at your welcoming and friendly B&B. The Mozart suite was comfortable and clean and had an amazing shower! The full breakfast was excellent with many choices and the service was friendly and helpful.

Mr Richard Whiley - 12th August, 2013
Verified Review

Britten House
Spent a few days at this wonderfully welcoming B/B everything about it was superb,from the very comfortable bed and room facilities to the scrummy breakfasts served by such friendly owners We cannot reccomend Britten House enough.

Mrs. Carol Reed - 30th July, 2013
Verified Review

'BRITTEN HOUSE'
We spent a very enjoyable two nights at 'Britten House' recently, and cannot speak too highly of the stay. Alan and Ann made us very welcome, from the moment of our arrival and did all that they could to ensure that we enjoyed our time with them. The house is perfectly situated for the South Beach, and our room, overlooking the sea, was all that could be asked of it, with plenty of space, a very comfortable bed, an excellent 'en-suite', and a high level of décor, fixtures and fittings. The breakfasts could not have been better, with a wide variety of choice, in an attractive dining room, and, although we did not avail ourselves of the evening meal, which could be ordered in advance, we are sure that this would have been of the same high standard. The only slight niggle would be that parking space is restricted to four cars only, which does not leave a lot of room for manoeuvre, and means that other guests have to park on the roads nearby, which could be a problem at the height of the season. However, this apart, we found that 'Britten House' is an ideal place for a long or short stay, and we would wholeheartedly recommend - and, indeed. have already recommended it - to others. DONALD & LUCIA HUNT.

Mr. Donald Hunt - 23rd July, 2013
Verified Review

Excellent stay
My husband and I enjoyed our stay at Britten House. The facilities were very clean and in good working condition. We were also impressed with the elaborate breakfast options we received every morning. The service and food at Britten House added that extra touch to make our stay wonderful.

Mrs. Glenna Nightingale - 18th July, 2013
Verified Review

Relaxing
My purpose of traveling to Lowestoft was to find a clean, confortable, quiet and inexpensive place next to the ocean where I could take a walk along the shore and relax after a very stressful week. I found what I was expecting plus great ownwers and guests, clean little town, not so crowded on the nice sand of the beach, huge pedestrians walking path paralell to the shore and good inexpensive vegetarian restaurant. Althought I traveled alone I'm sure a couple and families will enjoy the town and admosphere as much as I did. My only complain is that I was hoping for sunny days and never happened; however, that is nature duties.

Mr. Mario Molina-maldonado - 16th July, 2013
Verified Review

Friendly, Comfortable and Stress free stay
Britten House is a lovely old building located very near to Lowestoft beach. I was welcomed warmly by Collin and showed to a very comfortable and cool (it was very hot outside) single room. The towels were soft and the bed was very comfy- everything smelt clean and fresh and the cooked breakfast was amazingly tasty. Thank you so much for a lovely stay.

Mrs. Nicola Goodwyn - 11th July, 2013
Verified Review

Wished we could have stayed longer!
Our stay was on the fulsome recommendation of my wife's brother. He did not understate the pleasure a stay at his delightful home. Our welcome by Colin was relaxed -yet full of well informed local knowledge. Our room was attractive, clean and stylish with all that we needed. Our breakfast was HUGE and very enjoyable! What was particularly pleasurable was the easy access to Lowestoft's Blue Flag beach. How we wished we were staying longer - especially as our visit coincided with the centenary of Benjamin Britten's birth. An adde bonus

Mr Hunt - 6th July, 2013
Verified Review

A very nice break
We enjoyed our stay very much. Room was lovely, everything we needed with a very good breakfast to set us up for the day.

Mrs. Janet Firth - 3rd July, 2013
Verified Review

Top Class B & B
We cannot fault our exceptional stay at this beautiful B & B. Everything from the ambience and décor to the breakfasts and service was superb. Ann and Colin are excellent hosts and have set an extremely high level to which other B & Bs should aspire to. They certainly deserve the award for No.1 B & B in Lowestoft

Mrs Jenny Leach - 2nd July, 2013
Verified Review

BRITTEN PILGRIMAGE
We came to your hotel as the first part of a sort of Britten pilgrimage which ended in Aldeburgh; staying in Ben's bedroom was extra special. The Schubert room was superb, as was your welcome! And we loved the marmalade!

Mr. Martin Bull - 25th June, 2013
Verified Review

Britten House
We stayed 2 nights in the Bach room which was large with spacious en-suite. Very clean with all the facilities you would expect e.g. Tea making, hairdryer etc. Comfortable bed, good duvet and fluffy towels. WiFi. The cooked breakfast was enormous. Would recommend.

Colin Withycombe - 24th June, 2013
Verified Review

Britten House for me!
Once again, an excellent stay, with comfortable and well furnished room. Ideal free Wi-Fi provision, and an excellent breakfast, all with the added personal touch of a privately run hotel, at a very reasonable cost. Would recommend it to anybody.

Mr Kevin Taylor - 22nd June, 2013
Verified Review

Review
Accomadation was excellent. Very Clean and a huge breakfast!! Both Ann and Colin were very friendly and helpful. Would go back!

Ms Josie Clifford - 17th June, 2013
Verified Review

3-day visit
Most friendly atmosphere, perfect breakfast, very nice rooms with sea-veiw, clean, almost no trafic, good location and easy parking.

Mr. Robert Robertson - 14th June, 2013
Verified Review

Great experience
Nothing went wrong. Historical place, warm welcome, nice people, interesting information, clean and large room, splendid breakfast, To recommend!!

Mr Massimo Appoloni - 14th June, 2013
Verified Review

Britten House
Very comfortable, friendly and great breakfast. Always stay here on my regular visits to Lowestoft.

Mr Gareth Mckillop - 10th June, 2013
Verified Review

Two night visit
This is an excellently run and friendly establishment.

Mr. Geoffrey Bush - 10th June, 2013
Verified Review

Very nice, but
Very comfy bed, absolutely delicious breakfast, very good host. BUT parking is a pain.

Mr. David Pratt - 9th June, 2013
Verified Review

stay at britten house
best hotel I have stayed in for a long time great people lovely house best marmalade on earth fantastic

Mr Tony Leon - 7th June, 2013
Verified Review

wonderful service again
Always up to exceptional standard of room, friendly service and the usual wonderful Breakfast. Thanks.

Mr Richard Clarke - 31st May, 2013
Verified Review

I would recommend this b & b
A very nice bed and breakfast. The host and hostess certainly go the extra mile to make it a great place to stay. The breakfast was one of the best we have had at anywhere we have stayed. This is how all b & b's should be run, but I am afraid many in England aren't anywhere near this standard.

Mrs. Tania Jackson - 21st May, 2013
Verified Review

Excellent B&B
Colin and Ann were very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was delicious and generous. Our room facing the North sea had a beautiful view. We highly recommend Britten House.

Ms. Sarah Campbell - 19th May, 2013
Verified Review

Mon. 13/5/2013
lovely large room with sea view, everything you need in there. king size four poster bed, comfy sofa, large tv, table two chairs, tea making facilities and mini fridge, etc. plus a large lovely bathroom. the breakfast set us up for the day, delicious. thanks for your hospitality

Mrs Elizabeth Mcmahon - 13th May, 2013
Verified Review

Britten House
you will not find better in Suffolk,warm and friendly,greeting ,lovely rooms,comfy beds, and good food

Len & Pat Harris - 12th May, 2013
Verified Review

Ace
Great place, friendly service.

Mr. Clyde Fare - 7th May, 2013
Verified Review

Britten House
A very comfortable stay in a lovely house with a homely feel and the most excellent breakfast. The owners are very welcoming and always happy to engage in interesting conversation. I always check here first when I have to return to the area. Great value for money. Thank You very much.

Mr Kevin Taylor - 3rd May, 2013
Verified Review

Excellent Views
This is a great little B&B in Lowestoft. The views from my room onto the sea were fantastic and the breakfast was delicious. In addition, there is free wifi in the rooms. The only slight downside is that there aren't many restaurants within walking distance that are open in the evening.

Mr. Ranjit Mene - 1st May, 2013
Verified Review

April Visit
A great B&B to stay at. We had a lovely room with a great sea view. We were made to feel welcomed by a friendly couple and were provided with a wonderful breakfast during our stay. The home made preserves were a bonus

Mr. David Briggs - 1st May, 2013
Verified Review

Excellent Stay
Pleasurable night stay, comfy bed, fantastic breakfast.

Mr Gerard Jedrze - 27th April, 2013
Verified Review

First Class
Britten House is indeed a first class B&B.exceptionally clean and friendly with an excellent well served Breakfast menu, and offering good local advice where needed.

Mr James Irvine - 19th April, 2013
Verified Review

Great Hotel
Great welcome, felt at home at Britten House,the room was as good as any four star hotel I've stayed in. Fantastic breakfast, what more can you ask for.

Mrs Wendy Barlow - 11th April, 2013
Verified Review

Britten House stay
Lovely and immaculate house. The Chopin suite did not overlook the sea (something that was pointed out to us) but it was a beautiful room anyway so no problem. Excellent breakfast and great friendly service. We will be happy to stay again

Mr Bob Eve - 8th April, 2013
Verified Review

Look no further!
Typical British weather (Snow in spring) but it was only when snugly tucked up that night in an very comfortable bed that I realised how nice and warm the room had been on arrival. Very clean bathroom with fluffy towels. All extra touches one would expect from a top class place plus home made jam in the morning to accompany a well cooked full English. Colin couldn't have been more helpful in helping us get on track to find a property to live in - even gave us his local paper to compliment the online searches! Would recommend to my mother - need I say more! Had the schubert suite, very spacious, which had a view of the sea also one bedroom downstairs where they allow a biddable dog to stay with you.

Mrs E Haverson - 8th April, 2013
Verified Review

Full of Eastern Promise
The promise was fulfilled. Probably the best B&B in the UK. I've never found better. Not just the rooms and the attention to detail and cleanliness, but the quality of the furniture and fittings. In "Mozart" the most sophisticated steam bath and shower which could keep you in your room all day and the most magnificent view over the sea. Lowestoft is the most Eastern town in the UK and has charming and welcoming hosts and breakfasts to die for. We'll be back!

Mr. Brian Doyle - 7th April, 2013
Verified Review

BEST BREAKFAST, GORGEOUS ROOM
This is by far one of the lovliest B&B's I've ever stayed in. We stayed in the Mozart Suite which lives up to it's exceptional reputation. I told Ann and Colin, she made the best traditional breakfast my husband and I have had in 30+ years of travelling to England. This couple WILL definitely go out of their way to ensure you have a nice stay.

Mr. Thomas Tyrrell - 7th April, 2013
Verified Review

Britten House
Excellent. Good value for money. Breakfast was one of the best I've had for a long time. Excellent sea view. The room was very good indeed. Hosts also very good and welcoming. As a Britten "Fan" (and this was really the reason to stay there) I might have expected a little more on BB and his life/works/ links with Suffolk etc. Perhaps a little biography left in the hallway, but that's just me.

Mr. Nicholas Kerrison - 3rd April, 2013
Verified Review

Great.
Really enjoyed my stay! A very friendly atmosphere and the location is superb. Will certainly be back to visit again soon.

Miss. Carron Cumberbatch - 19th March, 2013
Verified Review

Lovely comfortable night in a very windy Lowestoft
Very nice room. Very welcoming and a lovely breakfast. Would definitely stay there again. Ben

Mr Ben Webster - 15th February, 2013
Verified Review

Five star
Best BNB in lowestoft

Mr Mohammed Rabbi - 8th February, 2013
Verified Review

Britten House
We stayed at Britten House last weekend (Jan 2013) and having not stayed at a Guest House/B&B, didnt know what to expect v's a hotel. We were very impressed. The building is very well kept, is appropriatley decorated and furnished to a high standard and is very clean. We were made to feel very welcome, and the breakfast was fantastic. Definitely recomended.

Mr. Dion Applebee - 5th February, 2013
Verified Review

Excellent stay
excellent service & food with a friendly manner lovely room very comfortable bed. First class all-round.

Mr George Hopper - 29th January, 2013
Verified Review

Great place to stay
We recently stayed at Britten House and were very impressed by the quality of the room and the overall hospitality. Our room overlooked the sea and was warm and very comfortable

Mr. Richard Van Roon - 4th December, 2012
Verified Review

A fabulous stay and what a view!!
All 4 of us are Guest House Owners in Stratford upon Avon and for 2 of us this is our second visit. We were very lucky to find Britten House with the incredibly friendly owners,spotless en-suites and wonderful sea-views. We will be back and recommend to others!!!

Mr Peter Halford - 26th November, 2012
Verified Review

Appreciation
I have used Britten House for many years as my automatic choice of accommodation for visits to Lowestoft. Colin and Ann achieve a splendid balance of professionalism and friendliness. The well appointed rooms and quality of the dining room make every visit a pleasure.

Mr John Bussey - 19th November, 2012
Verified Review

Best Hotel I Ever Stayed In
Britten House is a beautiful sea front hotel and that's just from the outside. Inside, the rooms are finished to an unbelievably high standard and the bed are really confortable. I have had the chance to experience 3 different rooms at this hotel so far (I've stayed a few times now) and they are all amazingly well decorated and kept. Nothing about this place feels cheap in any way (apart from the price). The owners are very friendly and accomodating withouth being over-bearing at all. They'll do anything to make you feel welcome and comfortable. The facilities in the rooms are great and the breakfast is is lovely - they have everything you could wish for. I have stayed in hundeds of hotels on my travels and I'd choose this one every time if I could.

Mr Peter Wood - 7th November, 2012
Verified Review

Wonderful hospitality
A pleasant, welcoming experience. The facilities were excellent and breakfast was a treat.

Mr. David Caheny - 6th November, 2012
Verified Review

Another Excellent Stay
We have stayed at Britten House a few times now and can confirm that the house is lovely with a view across to the sea, the breakfast/lounge room is a great location to watch the sunrise over the sea. We have always stayed in the Bach Suite which is a nice ground floor room with large bed, flat screen TV and a generous en-suite shower room. The hosts are always warm and friendly and provide excellent breakfast service.

Mr. Brian Randall - 4th November, 2012
Verified Review

Excellent Accomodation
Comfortable, welcoming and good value for money. Nothing is too much trouble, a real 'home from home' experience. It won't be too long before we return. Thanks

Mrs Lynne Benfield - 4th November, 2012
Verified Review

Richard
We had a very pleasant stay.The view from our room was great. The Breakfast was very good and the owners were very helpful. We plan to return in the future!

Mr Richard Curzon - 3rd November, 2012
Verified Review

5 star treatment
Excellent comfortable accommodation relaxing in the Chopin suite.Very friendly attentitive owners added to my enjoyable short stop over.If i was in the area again i would return to Britten House to enjoy another sumptious breakfast feast.

Mr George McKay - 2nd November, 2012
Verified Review

Half Term Treat
This was our first trip to the Britten Hotel and Lowestoft. we enjoyed our brief stay immensely, thanks to good food and good service.

Mr Chris Benger - 2nd November, 2012
Verified Review

Consistently excellent!
As usual Britten House did not disappoint. this has to be the most comfortable accommodation I stay in on my travels.

Ms Angela Shairpe - 30th October, 2012
Verified Review

Britten House
Colin and Anne made very informative and entertaining hosts during our weeks stay,the room and en suite were excellent and kept immaculate clean all week.breakfast was well made and generous. A lovely place to stay.

Mrs Linda Buchan - 25th October, 2012
Verified Review

Perfect weekend
This was our third visit to Britten House - excellent comfortable hotel in an ideal location. We were made to feel very welcome once again.

Mrs Ann Moulam - 22nd October, 2012
Verified Review

A wonderful stay
I had a wonderful stay at Britten House. From the moment I walked through the door, I was made to feel very welcome. Even though I had missed out on a large room because the hotel was full and my booking was very late, the room and ensuite were very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent.

Mr. Andrew Carwood - 18th October, 2012
Verified Review

Brief but very pleasant stay
We stayed just one night here when visiting family in the area and were delighted to have found such lovely accommodation with a friendly welcome. The room and ensuite were very well equipped and extremely comfortable. The full English breakfast could not be faulted in presentation, flavour, or quantity! We can highly recommend Britten House.

Mrs Rachel Smith - 17th October, 2012
Verified Review

Britten House
We thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay at Britten House. The hosts Colin and Ann were welcoming, friendly and hospitable. We stayed in the lovely Mozart suite which has a wonderful sea view and luxurious facilities. The breakfasts are the best we have ever had from either a hotel or Bed and Breakfast establishment. We are looking forward to our next visit.

Bernard And Mary Curtin - 14th October, 2012
Verified Review

5 stars
The hotel was fantastic and a great location .the staff was very good and the room was perfect , the breakfast choice was very good , I had a full cooked English and it was beautiful .Thanks very much

Mr Trevor Robertson - 9th October, 2012
Verified Review

Weekend stay
A really comfortable stay nice room, comfy stay and good breakfast would definitely stay again

Mrs Sandra Wells - 8th October, 2012
Verified Review

Back again
Our third stay. We love this place!

Mr. Steve Betts - 29th September, 2012
Verified Review

Britten House
Having stayed at Britten House over the past couple of months, I have only postitive words to say. My stay has been most pleasant and the hosts have been very accommodating and most welcoming! It's just like being at home! With great detail in decor to very comfortable beds! The highlight for me was breakfast, prepared well to get you through your working day!! Will definitely recommend Britten House to any body wanting first class service without the designer price tag!!

Nim - 19th September, 2012
Verified Review

Dennis and Kate Ginger
Very enjoyable stay,very comfortable, super breakfast. Very friendly and social hosts.

Mrs C Ginger - 17th September, 2012
Verified Review

Mr. and Mrs.
A wonderful reception by Ann and Colin who made our stay an excellent one. The room was first-class as was the service when we needed it. The bed was clean and comfortable and the en-suite more than adequate. As for the breakfasts, I can't find the words to fully give it justice! Let me just say it was scrumptious - thanks Ann for cooking and presenting it so beautifully. If anyone isn't happy with Britten House they must be very, very hard to please. I would recommend it to anyone.

Mr Peter Whittam - 14th September, 2012
Verified Review

First Class
Originally chose this Hotel as it was where the composer Benjamin Britten had lived. It was a good choice. Excellent in every. Wonderful hosts, spacious rooms, great food, nothing too much trouble. Lovely beach across the road in better part of Lowestoft. A pleasure to stay in.

Mrs Carol Hughes - 11th September, 2012
Verified Review

Two-night stay.
Friendly atmosphere, comfortable well appointed room, good location, good en-suite facilities, very good food and dining room, very good service, personnel very friendly and helpful. Regret, no bar! ;o) Regards, Bruce Newman.

Mr Edward Newman - 10th September, 2012
Verified Review

excellent hotel
Our first visit to this hotel turned out to be excellent as soon as we arrived we were made very welcome with a welcoming cup of tea after a 4 hour journey the hotel was very clean also the breakfast was excellent we shall certainly be going back in the future we had an excellent weekend

Mr D Macaulay - 7th September, 2012
Verified Review

Fantastic service again
We have stayed with Colin and Ann a number of times now and each time the service has been excellent. This year, we had our coach holiday cancelled and contacted Britten House to book a room at short notice. We were booked in the Elgar roon which has a lovely view over the sea and beach. The breakfasts were excellent as usual and nothing was too much trouble. Colin and Ann even pointed us to a place where we could get a very good meal at night. This has to be the best place place to stay in Lowestoft.

Mr Michael Cooper - 6th September, 2012
Verified Review

Britten House
Britten House is the prime example of a British seaside guest house exactly as it should be,with excellent tastefully furnished rooms,comfortable beds and top quality breakfast with fish options and fresh fruit,all in a historic and beautifully presented building. The owners are friendly but professional and unobtrusive. In a word excellent.

Mr John Durrant - 30th August, 2012
Verified Review

Best ever
Very pleasant stay that the Britten house. Rooms are nice and well furnised the owners are very nice people Breakfast is excellent

Mr. Thomas Brunel - 29th August, 2012
Verified Review

Perfect weekend break
Lovely character house with modern facilities and beautifull toiletries.A warm welcome and huge breakfast menu (spoilt for choice)includes homemade preserves. All a stones throw from the fantastic beach.

Mrs. Sandra Cooper - 23rd August, 2012
Verified Review

The Britten Lowestoft
Having never stayed in a B & B (we,my Mother & I, are very worldly travelled but have always stayed in hotels from 3 to 5 stars) before, we had nothing to compare the Britten to but from the very onset we were overwhelmed, the welcome by Ann, the quality of the room & its contents, the breakfast which was served with a smile & a joke by her husband, the cleanness etc. If we wanted to be very picky & needed to find a suggestion that we could make to the proprietors then all we could say is that the extractor fan in the bathroom could be more efficient as we found the room to hold the heat & moisture for some time but that is all. We would certainly highly recommend the Britten.

Miss. Stephanie Thredgle - 19th August, 2012
Verified Review

A wonderful stay
Having stayed in a few B & B's this has got to be one of the most excellent places I have been to. Friendly staff and wonderful hosts! Very clean rooms, and a huge breakfast!!

Mrs Heather Lidgey - 13th August, 2012
Verified Review

Great place
Very good stay, please go to Trip Advisor to seeour full comments

Mr. Anthony Hogarth-smith - 5th August, 2012
Verified Review

Lovely Weekend
A weekend away from London in this lovely, friendly and welcoming hotel right in front of the sea, the perfect way to recharge your batteries far the commotion of the big cities. The room are spacious, bright and cosy.

Mrs Lili Brochen - 1st August, 2012
Verified Review

First Class Guest House
This was our third stay in twelve months and each time the hospitality, accomodation, breakfast and location is simply superb. Ann and Colin are such friendly hosts, you are made to feel so welcome. If you want an excellent stay in Lowestoft it has to be at Britten House.

Mr Keith Morley - 29th July, 2012
Verified Review

Well Pleased
lovely room, great food and location. We where made to feel welcome throught our stay. I will be back and wouln`t hesitate to recommend The Britten House to anyone.

Mr Sephen Hoddy - 24th July, 2012
Verified Review

Short Stay
We stayed for one night only in a very confortable,clean room in this very friendly B & B. It offers a seaside location at a very reasonable price.

Mr Storey - 9th July, 2012
Verified Review

Britten House
Pleasent, friendy and helful hosts, very comfortable room, excellent breakfast.

Dr Mike Best - 6th July, 2012
Verified Review

britton house
colin and ann are very friendly and great hosts room was fantastic with great views breakfast was excellentwitha wide choice overall a superb place to stay we would have no problem recommending to friends and we shall book again

Mrs. Janice Mcalpine - 29th June, 2012
Verified Review

Excellent two night stay
We very much enjoyed our two night stay at Britten House which fully lived up to our expectations. Wonderful breakfasts, comfortable, quiet room and very helpful, informative owners

Mrs Barbara Mason - 23rd June, 2012
Verified Review

Nice B&B
Stayed for a weekend at this great B&B, room and breakfast very nice. Would recommend.

Mr. Mark Thomas - 18th June, 2012
Verified Review

Excellent!
What a lovely hotel the Britten House is! A warm welcome on arrival, excellent clean, spacious and comfy rooms with a cracking breakfast to follow a good nights sleep. I cannot recommend this accommodation highly enough, I would give it more stars than 5 out of 5 if I could!

Mrs. Leigh Corbett - 3rd June, 2012
Verified Review

Excellent guest house
Lovely friendly welcome, which continued throughout our stay,beautiful large spotless and a very well equipped room overlooking sea.Wonderful breakfasts with such a choice, and delicious homemade jams.We would thoroughly reccomend this lovely guest house. We look forward to returning soon. A big Thank You to the owners for providing us with such a relaxing break.

Mr & Mrs Rolls - 22nd May, 2012
Verified Review

Weekend stay in May 2012
A very warm and friendly welcome to a lovely hotel overlooking the seafront. Would recommend to friends. Delicious breakfast !

Mrs Fiona Moon - 20th May, 2012
Verified Review

Britten House
This is the 3rd. time I've stopped at Britten House and it was excellent as usual in every way.

Ms Freda York - 17th May, 2012
Verified Review

A Perfect Stay
We have just returned from a short break at this beautiful hotel. Nothing was too much trouble for Ann and Colin who made us feel extremely welcome offering us tea and biscuits on arrival and pointed out the places of interest to visit. Our room was on the ground floor and was absolutely perfect, from the beautiful furnishings to the lovely selection of toiletries. The hotel was in a perfect location situated on the seafront and walking distance to the town centre. Breakfast was first class and couldn't be faulted. Sadly we were only staying for a couple of nights but we will definitely be returning in the future and have recommended Britten House to our family and friends.

Mr O\'malley - 28th April, 2012
Verified Review

Welcome Stay
Have recently returned from a weekend at Britten House and cannot praise it highly enough. Both Colin and Ann made us feel very welcome and it felt like a home away from home. We asked if we could have an early check-in of 12noon and was told that they would try to accommodate this - which they did, brilliant service!! The rooms are bright and furnished very nicely, a nice large flatscreen TV in the rooms and lovely sea views. The breakfasts are out of this world (the largest plates I have ever seen - and filled!), they will definitely set you up for the day! What I particularly liked was the fact that, once you were given the code to the door, you could come and go as you pleased and didn't feel at all like you were being "watched". All in all a very pleasant and relaxing stay and one that will definitely be replicated.

Mrs Nina Robinson - 26th April, 2012
Verified Review

Visitor comments
We were pleasantly surprised at the standard of the Britten and our room. It was like a step back in time - but in a good way. The ambience was friendly and welcoming. There was everything for breakfast and cooked to perfection. We have no hesitation in recommending this accommodation - although we are wary that we may not get accommodation in future! A jewel in what Lowestoft has to offer. Also visited 301 in Kirkley which produced lovely and reasonable food and the local pub. Saw a side that we haven't seen although visiting the area for six years. W & G April 2012

Mr Townsend - 25th April, 2012
Verified Review

Well run
Really well run place. The check in was easy, good information given, friendly hosts, lovely breakfast, great view from a large room (Mozart room). The room had excellent hospitality items as well.

Mr G Trahar - 17th April, 2012
Verified Review

Another comfortable stay.
As previous stay, a warm welcome was received Sat 14.04.12. The room was spacious, very comfortable and clean with a great sea view. The breakfast was freshly cooked and very filling and the service was second to none. Will look forward to our next visit.

Mr Geoff Stockle - 15th April, 2012
Verified Review

Brilliant As Always
I left a lengthy review on 3 September 2011, please read, nothing has changed. Sometimes going back to a place that was first class in the first instance is a bit of a let down second time around as you have the same expectations as you experienced for the first time. Well, Britten House and the superb hosts in Ann and Colin have maintained that first impression, so much to say that we are returning again in July, that speaks volumes. Keith, Marilyn and Ethan (grandson) from Derby

Mr Keith Morley - 13th April, 2012
Verified Review

Britten House
Lovely place to stay. Would recommend

Mrs. Susan Wightman - 11th April, 2012
Verified Review

5 Star at Lowestoft
Thank you Ann & Colin for a great, comfortable stay. A late booking request for a family room for 5 (less than 24 hrs) was met with real understanding and help, the offer of an an extra bed was put in the room which was more than we could of asked for. We arrived the following day to find a warm welcome and a cosy room. Breakfast was tasty with great portions (the full english was delicious).Great people, great location (seafront), great food, great Hotel. Would definately go back again, a five star rating. Excellent!!

Mr Peter Cook - 9th April, 2012
Verified Review

Five |Star Excellence
From the minute we walked in to when we departed we enjoyed the hospitality,the incredibly comfortable rooms and the superb breakfast.We have now found the place we have been looking to escape to!!!We wlii be back.

Mr Peter Halford - 28th March, 2012
Verified Review

Just Great
A really lovely and very friendly Guest House. Both Ann & Colin made me feel very welcome. My room was gorgeous with a seperate bathroom all to myself. Great freshly cooked breakfast every day. Try the Haddock!!!! Overall a lovely stay

Mr Simon Bannister - 26th March, 2012
Verified Review

Britten House
Well looked after and comfortable Thanks

Mrs Heather Barrett-mold - 18th March, 2012
Verified Review

dank
Wij willen jullie hartelijk bedanken voor de goede zorgen en jullie gastvrijheid. groeten van Harrie en Annie Penders.

Mr. Harry Penders - 13th March, 2012
Verified Review

Britten House
I was greeted by Colin, the owner, at the front door and was treated to one of the most enjoyable overnight stays that I have ever had. A friendly, family atmosphere that belied the obviously professional approach which ensured that I will only ever stay here in future when in this neck of the woods. The room was to a very high standard and beautifully laid out with lots of little touches that made the difference between a room for the night and a really pleasurable experience. Breakfast was excellent, much better any I have had in the area before and I am looking forward to my next stay. I cannot reccemend Britten House highly enough. Thank you Colin

Mr Peter Neatherway - 9th March, 2012
Verified Review

Weekend stay
We found the Britten House comfortable and friendly. It is well placed for the beach and local eateries. Anne and Colin are wonderful hosts. Beware - the breakfasts are HUGE!! Very satisfying and you can tailor to suit yourself. Would definately recommend.

Mrs Westwood - 5th March, 2012
Verified Review

wonderful hotel
I stayed in this hotel before and enjoyed it so I decided to do it again. The rooms are lovely and comfortable with lots of additional little things which are really useful. The owners are very friendly and welcoming, making you feel at ease (not always the case in small hotels and B&Bs. The breakfast is delicious and I particularly enjoyed the home-made jams. I needed to buy a sandwich to take to my business meeting because no lunch was provided but they just made me one for free - that was delicious too. I came to this hotel twice on business but would really like to come back with my family for a short holiday. Do ask for a room with a view - it's spectacular. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough! The prices are reasonable for what you get.

Ms. Radmila Radulovich - 26th February, 2012
Verified Review

Deserves its great reviews
There is nothing not to like about this great hotel - super rooms, super owners, super breakfast and great location right on the seafront overlooking a clean sandy beach. On top of all that, it was the family home of the composer Benjamin Britten, so a piece of history. Enjoy!

Dr Fiona Tudor - 24th February, 2012
Verified Review

Britten House
Excellent, comfortable and beautiful accommodation. We would love to stay there again any time

Mrs Margaret Rosemary - 16th February, 2012
Verified Review

Britten House
This was 24 hours of total comfort and luxury. The welcome was warm, as was the House on a bitterly cold weekend. We recommend it hightly.

Mr Nicholas Cleobury - 13th February, 2012
Verified Review

An Excellent Stay
The Britten House is the finest Bed and Breakfast Guest House at which Portia and I have stayed since coming to the UK in the autumn of 2007. The proprietors are warm friendly as well as efficient. The staff was also very considerate and efficient. The breakfasts were outstanding and their concern for our enjoyment and comfort was paramount. If we ever return to Lowestoft, we would not stay anywhere else. In fact, if we have other friends who decide to travel to the area, we will definitely recommend that they stay at the Britten House.

Mr. James Fowler - 12th February, 2012
Verified Review

Returning Customer
Reliable quality of service and facilities. Friendly welcome, GREAT breakfast and rooms are the best !

Mr. John Meikle - 27th January, 2012
Verified Review

britten house
this b@b is the very best that we have stayed in ann and colin were very nice breakfast was frist class will be back.

Mr Morris - 21st January, 2012
Verified Review

Britten House
Large, clean, comfortable rooms. Staff very friendly and helpful. Ample breakfast and very good quality. Excellent location very close to promenade. Stayed in January 2012, would certainly go again.

Mr B Shrapnell - 14th January, 2012
Verified Review

Excellent
Best view ever,Best comfy bed ever,Best full english breakfast ever,Good friendly B&B will visit again,Thankyou

Mr Dale Barnaby - 14th January, 2012
Verified Review

Very nice Hotel
Thank you for a very nice stay, everything was very good, nice and warm,friendly, The room was fantastic, and the breakfast what can i say, it's 5pm now and still i have not needed anything else to eat today, i will stay at the Britten house the next time i go to Lowestoft

Mr. John Gout - 11th January, 2012
Verified Review

Superb!
Once again we had a lovely stay at Britten House, beautiful room with a great sea view and a very welcome hospitality tray, one of the best (and biggest)full English breakfats you can find anywhere with superbs hosts. Thank you.

Mr. John Tester - 9th January, 2012
Verified Review

overnight in lowestoft
Excellent stay in a laid back, but could not do enough for us guest house/hotel with on site car parking! The Mozart suite is large and warm with excellent sea views from the bay window with a dining table and chairs to sit at. In the centre of the room is a large comfortable settee with flat screen TV and at the rear a lovely comfortable four poster bed. The en suite bathroom has a hi tech shower and bath cabin and a mountain of SOFT fluffy towels.Hot drinks and biscuits and complementary toiletries complete the room setting and an incredible Farm house style breakfast completed the stay Only wish we could have stayed longer, but will be back!

Mr. Robert Mitchell - 1st January, 2012
Verified Review

britten house
excellent, spotless

Mr Jason Wright - 30th December, 2011
Verified Review

Second visit
Everything about Britten House is first class and excellent value for money. The facilities are warm, cosy and nicely furnished. The service and hospitality are second to none.

Mr. Malcolm Bond - 23rd December, 2011
Verified Review

Overnight Stay in my Home Town
Accommodation is of a high standard, and the warmth and hospitality are excellent. I would certainly stay here again.

Mrs Gail Longhurst - 20th December, 2011
Verified Review

Best B & B
This has to be the most comfortable B & B I have ever stayed in. The bed is almost as comfortable as my own, including the pillows. Breakfast is always lovely as our the hosts. A home from home.

Mrs. Angela Shairp - 17th December, 2011
Verified Review

Mozart Suite
My wife and I stayed at Britten house due to the good reviews given by others. I am pleased to add another good review. The Mozart Suite has a large comfy four poster, a seating area with a good size TV / DVD, and table and chairs in the bay window which has a sea view. The en suite bathroom has an amazing enclosed bath/shower. We have not had a better breakfast in the many hotels and guest houses we have stayed in over the years. We had a friendly welcome and good service. It was a shame that we could only stay for one night, and we hope to return.

Mr. Paul Seager - 5th December, 2011
Verified Review

Brief visit
We stayed recently for a brief visit. We had a seaside view which made the comfortable surroundings in our room very enjoyable along with the excellent breakfast.

Mrs Howard Caroline - 1st December, 2011
Verified Review

Looking Forward To Returning
A very freindly welcome; our room was very comfortable with a stunning view - the sunrise was something to behold. The breakfasts had a varied choice of fruits,cereals and hot food. We will definately be staying again.

Mrs Bailey - 25th November, 2011
Verified Review

Excellent
Nice welcome with excellent room and full English breakfast.

Mr Mike Oliver - 24th November, 2011
Verified Review

Britten House
Definitely a five star B&B very welcoming, comfortable with extra five star touches.

Mr Peter Nolan - 21st November, 2011
Verified Review

Britten House
Definitely a five star B&B very welcoming, comfortable with extra five star touches.

Mr Peter Nolan - 21st November, 2011
Verified Review

A Nice Hotel
Our host where very friendly, the room was warm well presented clean with a large modern shower room. The towels and toiletries where of high quality. The breakfast was excellent. Overall a very pleasent stay, Many thanks

Mr Andrew Bidston - 21st November, 2011
Verified Review

Short Break
The second time we have stayed at Britten House and again had a great time. Standards were excellent. A warm welcome from Anne and Colin. A lovely restful short break!

Mrs Ann Ghaghda - 15th November, 2011
Verified Review

Really good place to stay
A really good place to stay - we can't think of anything we'd want to improve. Rooms were fully equipped, owners were very friendly and the breakfast was made with good quality ingredients. Would definitely go back!

9 - 13th November, 2011
Verified Review

Britten House
This is the second time we have stayed at this excellent B&B Well appointed room, nice shower and provided toiletries Good breakfast with range of well presented starters,nice coffee and tea with a friendly service by the owners. This B&B has a Britten theme with various themed rooms and is located almost on the sea front close to Lowestoft town centre but also convenient for walks along the coast to Pakefield and Kessingland Would definately recommend this B&B for short or longer stays and would stay there again

Mr. John Rodger - 7th November, 2011
Verified Review

Lovely and restful
Great place to stay - in beautiful surroundings - excellent food too ! Would highly recommend it !

Mr Paul Mason - 7th November, 2011
Verified Review

Excellent
Great hotel, great location, and owners were extremely friendly and helpful, really going out of their way to improve our stay. Highly recommended.

Mr. Jolyon Winter - 3rd November, 2011
Verified Review

An Appreciation
Another excellent visit to Britten House. First Class rooms with attentive but unobtrusive service. Ideal position for business travellers or visitors. Only negative, albeit minor, no kippers at breakfast!

Mr John Bussey - 3rd November, 2011
Verified Review

Superior B & B
Large tastefully furnished bedroom with spacious, modern en-suite shower room. Tea/ coffee (& Horlicks) making facilities and TV. Helpful staff and an excellent breakfast. Small car park at rear for 4 cars only, so you may have to park in an adjoining road. Overall no hesitation in recommending this B & B.

Mr. David Flanagan - 30th October, 2011
Verified Review

B&B BenjaminBritten
Try the cooked breakfast with the dry humour of the B&B owner Colin. It felt very cosy while having all the comfort and services of a great hotel. Lovely place to stay. highly recommended.

Mrs Anne-catherine Lescrauwaet - 27th October, 2011
Verified Review

Recommend
One of the best B&B i have stayed at and would recommend anyone going to Lowestoft to stay there.

Mr. Robin Finnis - 22nd October, 2011
Verified Review

Perfect
Fantastic weekend lovely people and top class accomodation .

Mr. Ron Johns - 17th October, 2011
Verified Review

hospitality
always good to enjoy the hospitality of ann and colin. til december!

Mr Hans Teuns - 17th October, 2011
Verified Review

Wonderful place
We stayed only for 2 days but had a wonderful time. What a great view of the sea! Excellent breakfast, friendly hosts, comfortable room. We'd come again!

Dr. Sara Burkhardt - 13th October, 2011
Verified Review

Happy Couple
Thank you for a very happy stay. Nothing was too much and so nice to get away from the larger group clones.Food excellent. Worth all 5 stars.

Mr Hagan - 13th October, 2011
Verified Review

Happy Couple
Thank you for a very happy stay. Nothing was too much and so nice to get away from the larger group clones.Food excellent. Worth all 5 stars.

Mr Hagan - 13th October, 2011
Verified Review

Great
A lovely little hideaway, would recommend and will stay there again.

Mr. Tony Martin - 12th October, 2011
Verified Review

ecelent
excelent first class home from home super freindly service highly recomended

Mr David Hooker - 10th October, 2011
Verified Review

1 Night Stay
Great customer service and a great place to stay. Thank you

Mr Evan Flockhart - 3rd October, 2011
Verified Review

Lowestoft
We enjoyed our stay, with sea views, and a clean, comfortable room. Breakfast was good. Cannot fault the experience

Mr Michael Stjohn Cox - 2nd October, 2011
Verified Review

Great Stay
Britten House was a great last minute booking accomodation. Comfortable room,outstanding breakfast made all the more by the repartee by Colin,well done, will visit again

Mr O\'reilly - 30th September, 2011
Verified Review

One night.
We feel so lucky to have stayed,as to only booking at short notice,a pleasure,will recomend to our friends and family and hope to return next year, Regards.

Mr Amner - 26th September, 2011
Verified Review

Relaxing & Comfortable
Excellent accomodation with courteous hosts. Very peaceful and lovely view. Spoilt for choice at breakfast.

Mr. Robert Aldam - 22nd September, 2011
Verified Review

Weekend away
I'm giving top marks to "Britten House" for making our weekend away most enjoyable. We found the room clean and comfortable with that bit extra. We appreciated the friendly welcome without being OTT.`

Mr. John Beaumont - 19th September, 2011
Verified Review

Another great stay.
This was the second time we've stayed at Britten House and we'll certainly be back. Highly recommended.

Mr. Steve Betts - 17th September, 2011
Verified Review

Top Notch
My sister and I took our elderly mother (80) for a birthday treat. As usual, Anne and Colin were most hospitable and our stay was perfect. Breakfast superb and what an amazing room. Thank you.

Mrs Susan Gregory - 5th September, 2011
Verified Review

Fantastic
This place has been beautifully decorated with lots of personal touches to the room to make you feel relaxed and welcome, very freindly staff and the best breakfast I've had in a long time. I walked away from this place with a smile, just how I like to start my day.

Mr Wayne Partridge - 5th September, 2011
Verified Review

Fantastic B&B
We have stayed at Britten House Hotel several times now and on every occasion the facilities and service have been excellent. The breakfasts are superlative and the owners do all within their power to please the guests. I would recommend Britten House Hotel to anyone needing to stay in Lowestoft.

Mr Michael Cooper - 5th September, 2011
Verified Review

Wonderful stay
Friendly welcome, beautiful house, spotlessly clean, wonderful breakfast. An absolute gem right beside the sea.

Mr. Peter Aggleton - 3rd September, 2011
Verified Review

Best In Britten
Stayed for two nights with our grandson 31 Aug - 2 Sept. Everything about Britten House is just fabulous, the accomodation, the breakfast and the hosts. We stayed in the Schubert Room on the top floor overlooking the sea, great view. The room was extremely comfortable, plenty of room for the three of us both for sitting and sleeping. The ensuite again of a good size. Tea, coffee, hot chocolate and horlicks, together with biscuits were replenished daily. As for the breakfast, must be the best we have experienced in any Guest House we have stayed in. So much choice from fresh fruit salad, grapefruit, cereals, a wide choice of cooked breakfast and toast with homemade preserves. Being a typical man I requested the 'The Full English' absolutely massive, I was nearly embarrassed to ask for it again on our second day but fortunately overcame my embarressment and enjoyed the feast. As for Ann and Colin, you cannot wish to meet a nicer couple, so friendly, professional but just downright nice people. I cannot recommend this Guest House high enough, first class, you will enjoy. Keith, Marilyn and Ethan.

Mr Keith Morley - 3rd September, 2011
Verified Review

Fabulous hotel
This is a fantastic hotel, we could not fault it, the room was lovely, the breakfast was scrummy, the owners were very helpful and friendly, and the location was great. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Mrs. Jo Pearce - 1st September, 2011
Verified Review

Britten house
A lovely welcome and great room with sea view. Well worth the price. Good knowledege of the local brewerys! Great breakfast many thanks.

Mrs James Pope - 1st September, 2011
Verified Review

Highly recommend this guest house
Excellent guest house, very clean, friendly and location wonderful. A Comfortable and tastefully furnished ensuite room. Five out of five most definitely.

Mr. Amir Katz - 29th August, 2011
Verified Review

Britten House
We could only stay for one night but wished that it had been more. Excellent reception, nice large,clean room and en-suite. Fine breakfast with nice company. We felt that we were at home here. As a bonus Britten House overlooks what must be one of the largest and cleanest beaches in the country. We can recommend Britten House most hightly and will stay there if we return to Lowestoft.

Mr & Mrs Kindon - 27th August, 2011
Verified Review

Excellent comfort & location
We enjoyed the Britten House as a very comfortable hotel. Breakfasts were well cared for and generous. The hotel is ideally located at the sea-side and there is a bus stop before the hotel. The railway station is at a 20 minutes walk. And last but not least the hotel owners were very welcoming.

Mr Marc Broeckaert - 26th August, 2011
Verified Review

Britten House
The mozart room was delightful with a lovely view of the sea. Breakfast was excellant and served with a smile.

Mrs. Susan Moore - 24th August, 2011
Verified Review

one night booking only
we regret that we only stayed one night.Our stay was excellent.First class sea view room,very clean and all provisions available. Great location and easy free parking.We would fully recommend this hotel for anyone wishing a to visit this area. We will most certainly revisit but next time stay longer.

Mr Roger Meek - 22nd August, 2011
Verified Review

wonderful
great hosts, great room, great food,very pleasurable stay and we will definately return.

Mr & Mrs B Payne - 21st August, 2011
Verified Review

Britten House
Britten House was the childhood home of composer Benjamin Britten. It has been sympathetically converted to a high class B & B. The rooms are tastefully furnished and have all mod cons. The sea views are great and it is literally a stones throw from the beach. The service is excellent. It is agood location for visiting the Suffolk coast and for anyone interested in Benjamin Britten it is a must.

Mr Eric Henderson - 19th August, 2011
Verified Review

Lowestoft Gem
We found Britten House quite by chance on the net as we needed to make a last minute booking. The house has been beautifully restored and has lovely sea views.Our room was spotless and very quiet and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and we were made most welcome. One we will definitely return to.

Mr. James Lawlor - 17th August, 2011
Verified Review

brilliant
A great place to stay make you feel very welcome,will come back again thank's a lot mrs j rouse.

Mrs Julie Rouse - 15th August, 2011
Verified Review

July 2011
Very friendly, polite staff/owners Accommodation outstanding. Loved the attention to detail.

Mrs Caroline Burns - 12th August, 2011
Verified Review

Best stay in Lowestoft
Very well run, clean and comfortable b&b in Lowestoft. The best in town I would say, given my experience of others and of the 'best' hotel in Lowestoft nearby, which is not a patch on Britten house. Highly recommended.

Mr. James Magowan - 10th August, 2011
Verified Review

August 2011
All the staff were friendly & helpful. The rooms were very clean and furnished to a very good standard with fluffy towels and plenty of toiletries. There was plenty of choice on the breakfast menu and all the food was delicious. Only downer was the bed which dipped in the middle.

Mr Howes - 7th August, 2011
Verified Review

Lovely, comfortable stay
We spent a really pampered night here on the way back from Center Parcs Elveden Forest. The fluffy towels, biscuits and mini fridge were real treats and the scrambled eggs in the morning were delicious!The hosts, Ann and Collin are very welcoming and helpful, and there is lots in the near vicinity to do with young children - a great place to stop off and explore the area. Thank you!

Mr Demir Avigdor - 31st July, 2011
Verified Review

Benjamin would be proud to stay here
What a marvellous stay. From the old world charm of the building to the modern facilities this is much more than a B&B. The owners made us feel we were welcome guests to their own home and the breakfast was superb. I can't wait for an opportunity to stay here again

Mrs Linda Guest - 31st July, 2011
Verified Review

A really lovely stay!
Britten House is an ideal place for a short break away. Colin and Ann are very welcoming and serve the most delicious breakfast!

Mrs Laws - 29th July, 2011
Verified Review

Britten House
Wonderful room and facilities - excellent breakfast - the owners were very friendly and took a lot of cre in our comfort for our stay - will now use it as our base when visiting Lowestoft where our family live.

Mrs Kedge - 27th July, 2011
Verified Review

Natural Greatness
Our was an impromptu stay and Britten House saved the day. So it’s our pleasure just to say “5 star by far in every way” !

Mr John Stokoe - 26th July, 2011
Verified Review

Great stay
I would highly recommend all to stay here. The welcome was warm. The room amazing clean, comfortable and of a very high standard. The breakfast cooked to order and of large portions. Just s A great place.

Mr. Steve Nash - 25th July, 2011
Verified Review

had a great stay
Hello, It was a nice stay. Great princess bed and I really had fun with the remote control of my shower! Best regards

Ms Nora Hennrichs - 20th July, 2011
Verified Review

Britton House
This B&B had everything you'd get from a 5 star hotel and the breakfast was better than most 5 star hotels provide and at a fraction the price. It's woth staying just for the breakfast.

Mr Corr - 18th July, 2011
Verified Review

Delightful!
I recently spent a night at Britten House - in the Bach Suite. This is a really lovely en-suite room, sympathetically furnished. Very good breakfast, at a table with a great view of the sea. Colin and Ann were welcoming hosts - I would recommend a stay here...and longer than I was able!

Ms. Adrienne Bamberger - 16th July, 2011
Verified Review

Stunning
We were hugely impressed with Britten House and the service provided by Ann and Colin. The setting is lovely, our room (Mozart Room) was wonderfully comfortable, and the breakfast was excellent. The fruit salad was particularly good and Ann and Colin gave us a warm welcome. It was the best place that we stayed on this break and we intend to return.

Mrs Copewell - 14th July, 2011
Verified Review

Nice
Nice stay thank you we had a lovely room with a fantastic veiw of the beach and sea the breakfast was cooked as well as you do back home thanks Ann :) we will visit you again next time we are up on the east coast.

Mr Trevor Fullick - 14th July, 2011
Verified Review

An East Coast Gem
A friendly welcome, a superbly furnished and decorated room and bathroom, with the best breakfasts this side of the Ritz. Quiet and restful with sea-views and extraordinary value. AS good as, if not better, than most 4* Hotels at a much, much better price.

Mr. Brian Doyle - 12th July, 2011
Verified Review

superb
I spent one night there and the hosts were superb. I had a double room with ensuite bathroom. It was tastefully decorated and very comfortable and the king size double bed was superb, the best night sleep i've had in ages. The breakfast was also superb all a good full english or there was variety of other things to have from fruit,cereals, and fish. I'd definitely stop there again. Great value for money

Mr Daron Lea - 10th July, 2011
Verified Review

Weekend
We found 'Britten House'a very friendly place, well kept and comfortable. The English Breakfast was superb, of high quality. We had never been to Lowestoft before and found proximity to the sea front an extra bonus.

Mr R E Smith - 9th July, 2011
Verified Review

the britten
would like to say thankyou for such a welcoming and lovely stay would definately recommend to friends and family and hope to see you again soon

Mr Hayes - 6th July, 2011
Verified Review

Britten House weekend
An excellent B&B, we would definitely stay there again and recommend it to friends / family looking to stay in the area. Exceptional views and breakfasts. Thank you.

Mrs Sarah Barrat - 4th July, 2011
Verified Review

Very Enjoyable Place to Stay
We recently stayed at this Guesthouse for a weekend trip and the welcome was very hospitable, the room was great and well equiped with quality bed linen, nice powerful shower. The breakfast was very good too ! Would recommend this place to stay at !

Mr. Justin Hearne - 29th June, 2011
Verified Review

Britten at its best
had an excellent stay @ Britten House--the room was first class with quality accessories provided--breakfasts were of high standard as was the banter from from "the waiter"!!would gladly recommend to anyone-Margaret & Bob--Sheffield

Mrs. Margaret Green - 28th June, 2011
Verified Review

Weekend 25th june
Was clean tidy lovely room with sea view and excellent breakfast. Very welcoming and friendly. Thanks for a lovely stay . We would definetly come back.

Mrs. Lisa Keen - 28th June, 2011
Verified Review

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Don't usually choose to stay in a B+B, but, if you could bottle this one and have one in every town I would definitely use it. The atmosphere is lovely, the food is FANTASTIC. Couldn't have wished for more. Thankyou!!

Mrs. Lesley Barlow - 24th June, 2011
Verified Review

A brief visit to Lowestoft
We stayed here because it was recommended to us as a good place to stay in Lowestoft and found that it was excellent Many thanks

Mr & Mrs Taylor - 23rd June, 2011
Verified Review

a breath of fresh air
from the warm welcome to the beautiful room to the enormous breakfast britten house exceeded our expectations.location was great overlooking the beach,would recommend a stay here to anyone.

Mr David Boddon - 13th June, 2011
Verified Review

Super stay
Wonderful B and B - will come again

Mr David Moore - 13th June, 2011
Verified Review

Award winning B&B
Superb accomadation,impeccable service and bags of style.Warm and friendly,cracking good breakfast,will wow.

Kate Collings - 13th June, 2011
Verified Review

Splendid
A splendid place to stay. Certainly one to come back to net time in Lowestoft. Breakfast was excellent too. Five stars, no doubt.

Mr. Geir Haarr - 12th June, 2011
Verified Review

Great break!!
Lovely room,super food,very friendly owners & staff. My four year old loved the beautiful rocking horse. We both loved the location of the house, the sea was so close!! Ann & Colin were excellent hosts & were very kind.

Mrs Anne King - 7th June, 2011
Verified Review

GOOD WEEKEND
Britten House was well maintained and nicely furnished with good bathroom fittings etc. The breakfasts were very good and served HOT! Would definitely recommend a stay.

Mr Richard Lomas - 6th June, 2011
Verified Review

Britten House
Ann and her husband are very welcoming and environmentally conscious. The house is just in front of the beach which has lovely fine golden sand. The hotel is clean, quiet and I would certainly return to Britten House and recommend it. Thank you very much, Nathalie

Mr Nathalie Esparcieux - 6th June, 2011
Verified Review

Weekend Break
Lovely place, lovely location. We are frequent weekend visitors to Lowestoft to visit family so we will definitely use Britten House as our base in future.

Miss Lisa Copeland - 6th June, 2011
Verified Review

A Gem on the Sunrise Coast
From the (specially commissioned) stained glass in the entrance hall, complete with Brittenesque scallop shells, to the comfort, light and space of the eaves room to which BB moved after turfing out his sisters, Britten House is absolutely charming. Add a first-rate breakfast, plus the knowledge and enthusiasm of the host and hostess, and this makes for an excellent experience - everything a good B and B should be. Thank you, Colin and Ann.

Mr Paul Shobrook - 5th June, 2011
Verified Review

LUXURY IN LOWESTOFT
Genuine welcome. Beautifully clean and comfortable and a great breakfast to start your day!

Mrs Sandra Welsh - 2nd June, 2011
Verified Review

One night stay
Lovely house, lovely welcome, lovely food!

Mrs. ANGELA WRIGHT - 31st May, 2011
Verified Review

Great place to stay in Lowestoft
As Advertised this is a lovely place to stay by the sea. The breakfasts are awesome, and the staff are very friendly. I was visiting relatives and will definately stay here again.

Mrs. Kate Hamilton - 31st May, 2011
Verified Review

Welcome
This was our third time of staying, and as ever, we received a warm and friendly welcome, were well looked afer, had lovely comfortable room and bed, and a wonderful breakfast, which was extremely well cooked and presented. Thank you all at Britten House for making our stay most pleasurable, we will return

Mrs Diane Wood - 30th May, 2011
Verified Review

QUALITY & VALUE
As ever, great quality and value

Mr Barry Schnabel - 23rd May, 2011
Verified Review

Britten House
A genuine 5 star B&B in the nicest part of Lowestoft. Quiet and relaxed , excellent breakfast.Room 3 ( Mozart ) even has a 22 nd century steam bath ! Highly recommended.

Mr David Fogg - 18th May, 2011
Verified Review

Brilliant!!!
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Britten House. I can quite honestly say that I believe everything was thought of and provided. From the in-room fridge (a great boon) to a nice tea tray with biscuits and a good choice of beverages. A nice basket with toiletries, soft fluffy towels, a great shower, comfy seats to watch telly from, a stool in the spacious shower room. It's those little things that so add to a great stay. The room was clean and the beds and pillows were so comfy, I want them!! The hosts were very friendly and attentive. The location was superb, the breakfast plentiful with lots of choice. 15 out of 10. Would definitely recommend and hope to return again soon.

Miss. Ann Danter - 16th May, 2011
Verified Review

britten house
excellent room with a fab shower and lovely view. Breakfast was great especially the smoekd haddock and homemade jam. thoroughly recommended

Mrs. Jackie Naylor - 15th May, 2011
Verified Review

STAYING IN LOWESTOFT
We've tried most of them in Lowestoft but Britten House is the best for welcome, service and value, by a long way.

Mr Barry Schnabel - 13th May, 2011
Verified Review

Blue Plaque Hotel
Very comfortable. Easy access to all of Lowestoft's facilities. I will be staying again

Mr Steve Murray - 11th May, 2011
Verified Review

Britten House
friendly, comfortable, clean, great beach location, nice room, great breakfast, good value for money, would definately come back.

Mr Nick Court - 9th May, 2011
Verified Review

peaceful!
Lovely, interesting building and features. Nice simple room. Friendly, helpful owners. Couldnt get closer to the beautiful sandy beach. The breakfast was amazing!! was nice not to cook!! :) If we visit the area again, wewill defently stay here! no faults! thanks for having us

Ms Esme Handley - 5th May, 2011
Verified Review

Good visit
Great introduction to the Lowestoft area, and a pleasure for a lifelong Britten fan to visit the childhood home. Friendly welcome, helpful information.Perhaps a bit more could be made of the Britten connection for visiting enthusiasts.

Mr Richard Barling - 1st May, 2011
Verified Review

APRIL 2011
VERY FRIENDLY, CLEAN AND COMFORTABLE. fINE BREAKFAST.

Mr Alan Jackson - 26th April, 2011
Verified Review

Brilliant stay!
We have just stayed for one night at the Britten B&B and can honestly say its the best b&b we have ever stayed in. The house itself is amazing and so full of character. Upon arrival we were greeted by Colin and showed up to our room on the first floor. This was a lovely, bright room with a lovely en-suite. The location of the house is also excellent for both the beach, shops and town. For breakfast we both had the cooked breakfast which again was excellent, but I myself couldnt finish it, the produce was superb. We shall definitely return to the Britten and would certainly recommend it to anyone who wanted a first class stay!

Mr Kevin Cousins - 25th April, 2011
Verified Review

Britten House
As always, an excellent stay in all ways, especially in terms of value

Mr Barry Schnabel - 23rd April, 2011
Verified Review

A very satisfied customer
A five star Guest House with excellent food and a very friendly host full of local knowledge. Excellent

Mr Clarke - 16th April, 2011
Verified Review

2 night stay in April 2011
Nice welcome. Very comfortable room. Early (from 7.30) and excellent quality breakfast was much appreciated. Good advice given regarding local restaurants. All in all a very pleasant stay.

Mr. Andy Taylor - 15th April, 2011
Verified Review